Class of 1959

We, the Class of 1959, celebrated our 50th class reunion on April 24 and 25, 2009. This blog is about sharing memories of our class reunions and a long ago life at our Alma Mater's, S.F.X.A. and S.A.H.S. Good memories of days gone by but not forgotten! A gift to my classmates. ~Marian Love Phillips ~

Friday, May 27, 2011

Graduates Who Have Found Success

Military, Law and Public Service

John Ray Barr - Mississippi director, USDA's Women, Infants and Children programs; President, National Association of WIC directors; U.S. Air Forces colonel; deputy director of Supply for Strategic Air Command (St. Al 1949)
David Ellis - Notre Dame student body president; former Vicksburg city attorney (St. Al 1960)
J. C. Hamilton - mayor of Vicksburg (St. Al 1932)
Delbert Hosemann - Mississippi secretary of state (St. Al 1956)
Pat Kelly - mayor of Vicksburg (St. Al, year unknown)
Joe Lauderdale - Hinds County supervisor (St. Al 1967)
Bill Lauderdale - Warren County supervisor (St. Al 1965)
Joe Loviza - mayor of Vicksburg (St. Al 1958)
Marie Pantoliano -longtime Vicksburg city clerk (St. Francis 1938)
Carolyn Ellis Staton - Provost and vice chancellor for Academic Affairs at Ole Miss; first Mississippi Outstanding Woman Lawyer (St. Francis 1964)
Leona Barnes Stringer - longtime City of Vicksburg housing coordinator (St. Mary's 1964)
Frank Vollor - Ninth District Circuit Court judge (St. Al 1966)

Science, Engineering and Technology

Jim Davidson - NASA engineer (St. Al 1945)
George Ellis - NASA Huntsville analyst (St. Al 1952)
Tom Irby - NASA manager (St. Al 1954)
Tommy Pantoliano - NASA engineer; deputy chief at the Kennedy Space Center/Cape Canaveral (St. Al 1939)
Sidney Saucier - NASA/Huntsville engineer (St. Al 1954)
Mark Zappi - Director of the University of Mississippi Research Consortium for the Utilization of Biomass (St. Al 1977)

Arts and Entertainment

Katherine Bailess - actress (St. Al 1998)
Andrew Bucci - artist; recipient of the Mississippi Arts Commission 2009 Governor's Award for Excellence in the Arts for lifetime achievement in the visual arts (St. Al 1938)
Mart Crowley - playwright, script editor and television producer (St. Al 1953)
Karen Hopson Moen - Miss Mississippi 1981; Top-10 finalist and preliminary swimsuit competition winner, Miss America Pageant (St. Al 1978)
George McConnell - guitarist with Widespread Panic, Kudzu King and Beanland (St. Al 1981)
Ellis Nassour - writer (St. Al 1960)
Skippy Tuminello - architect (St. Al 1952)


Bishop Joseph Bernard Brunini - Eighth bishop of Natchez-Jackson Diocese; first native Mississippian to be named bishop (St. Al, year unknown)
Sister Mary Clemetine Phelan - Mother superior, St. Francis Xavier Convent; first Mississippi representative to the Province Council of the Sisters of Mercy in st. Louis (St. Francis 1885)

Journalism and Broadcasting

Fred Anklam - international news editor, USA Today (St. Al 1972)
Rebecca Bell - NBC news correspondent; head of NBC's Paris bureau (St. Francis, 1958)


Dr. George Abraham - management consultant, radio host, columnist and college professor and department head, humanities, fine arts and languages at East Central Community College, Hinds Community College and Ferris State College (Michigan) (St. Al 1963)
Malinda Rose Barnes - master teacher in Texas (St. Mary's)
Gwen Spencer Prater - Professor, California state University at Los Angeles and Jackson State University; founding dean, JSU School of Social Work (1995) and College of Public Service (2003) (St. Mary's)
Kirk Ring - assistant professor, Department of Management, Wichita State University (St. Al 1996) (My Godchild)


Billy Jaquith - Director, Mississippi Department of Mental Health; founded the first nursing home at the state hospital in Whitfield (St. Al, year unknown)
Sister Eva Loyacono - Administrator, Mercy Hospital (St. Francis, 1937)

The Most Rev. Joseph B. Brunini, left, and the Rev. Alfred Camp visit in the 1970's.  Brunini, a graduate of St. Aloysius, was  bishop from 1967 until 1984.  Camp, stationed in Vicksburg from  1968 until 1991, was principal at St. Aloysius from 1970-1987.

Information taken from the booklet - 150 years of Catholic Education in Vicksburg

No comments:

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...