Class of 1959

We, the Class of 1959, celebrated our 50th class reunion on April 24 and 25, 2009. This blog is about sharing memories of our class reunions and a long ago life at our Alma Mater's, S.F.X.A. and S.A.H.S. Good memories of days gone by but not forgotten! A gift to my classmates. ~Marian Love Phillips ~

Thursday, May 21, 2009

St. Aloysius High School Champions Day!

The Board of Mayor and Aldermen, will declare Friday, May 22, 2009 "St. Aloysius High School Champions Day"! You can view the proclamation adoption and members of the Baseball Team and Golf Team LIVE on Channel 23 at 10:00 a.m. Friday morning.

Below is a draft copy of the Proclamation. GO FLASHES!!


WHEREAS, the St. Aloysius High School Baseball and Gold teams both recently earned the title of Mississippi High School Activities Association's Class 1A State Champions; and

WHEREAS, St. Aloysius golf team members are: Alex Lanier, John Lindigrin, Charles Marsalis, Michael McKnight, Chris Ingram, Fisher Campbell, Elliott Bexley, Nick Mekus; and

WHEREAS, St. Aloysius baseball team members are: Brendan Beesley, Joseph Brown, Luke Burnett, Seth Carpenter, Andrew Collins, Josh Eargle, Emil Ellis, Reed Evans, Stephen Evans, Mathew Foley, Judson Gatling, Thett Hasty, Blake Haygood, Corey Jones, Wails Kemp, Chris Luke, Ryno Martin-Nez, Matt Mims, Patrick Murphy, Regan Nosser, Neal Ricks, Justin Rushing, Pierson Waring, Sean Weaver, and Ben Welp; and

WHEREAS, the golf team has excelled under the guidance of Head Golf Coach and Athletic Director Jim Taylor and the baseball team has been inspired and ably coached by Head Baseball Coach Clint Wilkerson, Assistant Coaches Chris Buse and Trey Clark, Team Managers Cameron Reed and George L. Tzotzolas, II, Team Statistician Eugene Buglewicz, Team Nurse Joan Bugleqica, Athletic Trainer Suzie Channell, Diamond Girls Aden Rials, Jeanna Cialone, Lauren Curtis, Haley Davis, Kourtney Dorbeck, Katie Floyd, Emily Fordice, Haleigh Huddleston, Sara Marcus, Chandler Mims, Kristan Murphy, Morgan Tidwell and both teams have been supported by their classmates, VCS Administrator Jennifer Henry, Principal Michele Townsend, teachers, families and friends in their quest for perfection on the golf course and baseball diamond; and

WHEREAS, these young athletes and the entire Flashes family are to be commended and congratulated on their hard work, effort and dedication which reflect a cooperation spirit and high degree of sportsmanship which bring honor to their school and community

NOW, THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED, That I, Laurence E. Leyens, by virtue of the authority vested in me as the Mayor of the City of Vicksburg, for and on behalf of the Board of Mayor and Aldermen and the people of Vicksburg, do hereby declare Friday, May 22nd, 2009, as


in Vicksburg, Mississippi and urge all citizen to join with me as we honor these young athletes and celebrate their accomplishment.

Signed this 22nd day of May in the Year of Our Lord Two-Thousand and Nine''

Laurence E. Leyens


No comments:

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...